Words and Blueberry Lemon Quick Bread (Update: and Muffins!)

I’m a shy person. Quiet might be a better term. I don’t typically lead conversations, and I often think of things I might contribute but then let them  go unsaid forever. Some might say that this sort of personality is a strange thing, and I used to hate this trait in myself, but somewhere in the mess of high school and the experience of college, I’ve grown to appreciate my character more.

You see, words are such a powerful thing. When spoken, each and every syllable carries significance as each and every sound and inflection speak meaning. The way that we say things, the order, the pitch, the choices we make, have the biggest impacts.

But I’ve come to realize that I don’t need to have a lot of words – one simple word might carry the same weight as a string of sentences threaded and weaved together. I think both of these ways are just as perfect as the other.

Sometimes I just don’t talk a lot. Some people assume that I’m uncomfortable, or maybe that I don’t like them. Sometimes, I’m perceived as a snob. Really though, I love conversations and listening and I don’t always feel the need to add words. I don’t think a conversation needs to consist of back and forth speaking, equal words from both sides. I believe one can contribute equally to a conversation with few words, maybe even with no words at all. It’s all about an exchange – an exchange of sense, of meaning, of feeling. Presence alone gives this. Words have specific denotations, but there are also so many other ways of sharing and communicating. I like to find those ways…

Baking is a way I communicate without speaking. It can display my mood. It can express love. The process itself is more for me, learning about myself, spending time to reflect on my surroundings, having a moment alone. The outcome though, it’s for me to share – to communicate with the people around me, to communicate with you as you read this now.

I made this blueberry lemon bread for family and a few friends. It was for you, too. In making it, I was able to unwind after a day that left me upset. I then happily shared it with some people who each carry special places in my life. And now, I’m able to use it to communicate even further, with you. For you to enjoy the photos, hear a story, and then maybe follow the recipe for your own loved ones.

I’m really loving this adventure of blogging I’ve started, and this new way of expressing myself – this place where I can be “quiet” but still communicate. Where I can be shy, but not so unspoken.

And I really hope you do make this sometime or another, as it was so simple to make, but so perfectly sweet and tart with the combination of fresh blueberries and lemon. The inside dense and moist, speckled with blueberries and lemon zest, and completed with a yummy crumb topping. It’s like a blueberry muffin, but better and in bread form!

 

 

 

IMG_9051 IMG_9102 copy

Blueberry Lemon Quick Bread with a Crumb Topping

Recipe makes three mini loafs, or one 8X4 inch loaf, Can also be used in muffin tins for 24-36 muffins

 

For the Bread:

1/3 cup butter, melted

1 cup sugar

3 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice

2 eggs

1 ½ cup self rising flour

½ cup milk

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1 ½ cup fresh or frozen blueberries (If using frozen, do not thaw)

Zest of one lemon

For the Crumb Topping:

3 Tablespoons butter

½ cup flour

3 Tablespoons sugar

In a large bowl, beat the butter, sugar, lemon juice (note, zest your lemon before juicing it), and eggs together. Add about half of the self-rising flour, then the milk, then the other half of the flour, beating well after each addition. Once well combined, gently fold in the blueberries and lemon zest. (Note – toss the blueberries in a bit of flour before folding in, and they shouldn’t sink to the bottom as much) Pour batter into 3 greased mini loaf pans or one larger 8 inch by 4 inch loaf pan.

To make the crumb topping, combine the butter, flour, and sugar in a small bowl. Use fingers to mix together until a crumb forms, leaving some crumbs larger than others. Sprinkle crumbs over top of each loaf, gently pressing down a bit so it sticks.

Bake at 350 degrees F for 18-20 minutes, or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. If using one larger pan, it will need to bake about 60-70 minutes. Cool at least ten minutes before removing onto a wire rack.

Note – If using all-purpose flour instead of self-rising flour, add in 1 teaspoon of baking powder and ½ teaspoon salt when adding the flour.

Another note – I like to used browned butter in the batter to give it a subtle rich and nutty flavor. Try it, I think you’ll like it! It’s really not very complicated, just heating the melted butter a bit extra, but the results are crazy awesome. Technique here.

Update: If making muffins, fill muffin tins with cupcake liners 2/3 to 3/4 full and top each with crumb topping. Bake 15-20 minutes, starting with 15 and checking center with a toothpick. It should come out mostly clean with possibly a few crumbs clinging on.

Recipe adapted from Taste of Home.

Much love,

b

IMG_9028 copy

3 thoughts on “Words and Blueberry Lemon Quick Bread (Update: and Muffins!)

Leave a comment